Student Mental Health

Student Mental Health Action Team Report

The teams have been charged with soliciting input from the community and preparing a preliminary report that presents a brief summary and historical background, benchmarking and discussion of best practices, identification of the key issues, and the compilation of both short and longer-term recommendations.


Appendix A (Microsoft Word)  |  Appendix A (PDF)

Appendix B (PDF)

Appendix C (Microsoft Word)  |  Appendix C (PDF)


Student Mental Health Action Team Listening Sessions

President G.P. "Bud" Peterson's Action Team on Student Mental Health invites you to share your views and suggestions regarding student mental health here at Georgia Tech.

Monday, Oct. 16: 8-9:30 a.m., Student Center (Peachtree Room)

Monday, Oct. 16: 4:30-6 p.m., Student Center (Room 343)

Thursday, Oct. 19: 9-10:30 a.m., Student Center (Room 320)

Friday, Oct. 20: 1-2:30 p.m., Wardlaw Building (Poole Conference Room)

Getting your input is important to our Action Team. If you are unable to attend one of our Listening Sessions, please email the Action Team with your feedback and suggestions:

Committee Chairs


Jenny Singleton

Professor - Psychology

Emily Hale

Student – Aerospace Engineering


Student Committee Members

Rachel Boyd, Graduate Student - Psychology

Alex Grady, Student – Mechanical Engineering

Vaisakh Haridas, Graduate Student – Electrical & Computing Engineering

Rachel Jinks, Student – Ivan Allen, Modern Languages

Andrew Perry, Student – Computer Science

Rachael Price, Student – Biomedical Engineering

Zoe Sieling, Student – Aerospace Engineering


Faculty and Staff Committee Members

Gregory Abowd, Regents Professor – School of Interactive Computing

Rob Butera, Associate Dean, Research & Innovation – Electrical & Computer Engineering

Pinar Keskinocak, Interim Associate Dean – Industrial & Systems Engineering

Julia Kubanek, Associate Dean – College of Sciences

Drew Adelman, Psychologist – GT Counseling Center

James Black, Academic Professional – Office of Graduate Studies

Mandy Garcia, Residence Hall Director


Contact the Student Mental Health Action Team: